Creative Advocacy-Are You In?

“My parents said I came into the world, screaming and hollering. I’d like to think that I was merely protesting!” Clara Freeman

Happy Monday! It’s a beautiful day every day when we can open our eyes and say “Thank you lord” for allowing me to see another day of following my dreams, speaking my truths and living a life of purpose and possibility. I believe the universe hears and receives your offerings. So, I begin by thanking God for loving me, guiding me and carrying me through the storms.

I awakened from a fitful sleep in 2008, determined to create a platform for women that would champion the voice of the “underdog” and empower the “power” that we possess. I’d always served in some capacity of leadership, whether advocating for children in their communities and schools, or recording the stories and voices of the elderly who felt forgotten in the anesthetic environment of the hospital where I worked as a young nurse.

My belief is that I’m being my best self when my work helps others and leads to positive change in some small space of their living. I’m happy with the work that I’ve done over the years and the achievements I’ve accomplished in the process, but I know there’s much I still need to do.

There are plans to revisit my memoirs. I’ve attempted the process many times:) and I remain focused on championing the voice of the “voiceless” and promoting Unleash Your Pearls Empowering Women’s Voices to women and the men that love and support them, on a global scale. I concede that my time on earth, like yours, is limited and therefore, I need to concentrate on doing valuable and meaningful work.

My mission is to ensure that Unleash Your Pearls, lands in the hands and on the hearts and minds of every woman and man, in the nation who seek to unleash their authentic voice and live a more authentically empowered life.

I humbly ask for your assistance in this endeavor. Email unleashyourpearls@yahoo.com to purchase a signed author’s copy for yourself and for all the warrior women in your life.

I will be taking an indefinite leave from my blogs in order to do work that makes a difference in my life and the lives of others. I’ve been asked to do more radio talk, and  check here for a recently published essay in The Book Of Hope Anthology by Krysta Gibson http://newspiritjournalonline.com/the-book-of-hope.

My personal narrative on life during Jim Crow was among the 88 contributors chosen from over 200 submissions for inclusion in the upcoming release anthology, Black Lives Have Always Mattered, a collection of essays, poems and personal narratives, edited by one of the original poets, Mr. Abiodun Oyewole and published by GABRIELLE DAVID of 2LeafPress.

I hope you reserve your copy of this important contribution to America’s History.

Preorders are available at http://2leafpress.org/online/black-lives-always-mattered-contributors/

http://bit.ly/blham-amazon).

Whatever mode of creativity you are in, in regards to walking in your authentic truths, I would tell you to just follow your passion, because that will ultimately lead you to your purpose. Go with your heart’s calling. Do the work you feel compelled to do, work that makes you happy as your contributions will make life matter, not only for yourself, but for others in the world needing to hear, see and feel your flow…

Peace and summertime blessings!

xoxo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.