My Friend Molly…

RN Admirals hat
Image via Wikipedia

What a beautiful morning guys! I’m writing today to talk about Molly. Yea. you’re probably thinking, how grand, it’s not about clara54 right now:) Well, you’d be wrong, sorta.  Molly is an RN with two young children and a husband to boot. Yep, men need to be cuddled as well. I digress, but, the point here  is, Molly is juggling a stressful job, being a wife & mother, and going back to school to get her Masters Degree.

Molly, I find, has a secret. A secret much like I had when I was a few years younger than she is now. Friday, Molly asked if I’d take a look at a couple of stories she’d written online at FanStory.Com. I said “sure I will” and I did. As a creative who has become quite adapt at scouting out and recognizing the “gift” in others, let me tell you, Molly has the creative writer’s gift!

The story is about Molly’s grandmother, written in descriptive voice in her native Johannesburg.Right off the bat, I’m haunted about how dark it gets at night in Africa. I become caught up in the  young girl’s fear. I’m wondering how long the next bus takes, reading how Molly misses the bus that takes her to her grandmother’s house way in the desolute countryside. Then it rains, adding to Molly’s fears because she’d never been out & alone so late before.   

When the frightened young woman exists the bus to walk the remainder of the way, she is crying and find herself doing something she’d never done before; Praying…praying for her grandmother. The moment in the story comes when Molly hears her grandmother calling out her name. Her grandmother had come to meet her because she knew Molly would be afraid…just like a grandma! 

I never got to read the second story from Molly due to time constraints, but I definitely will. She tells me she’s working on a manuscript, only 200 pages so far. I think about all of the stuff that sometimes take priority over our creativity and I can relate. But, I also know that when I give Molly my thoughts on her work? She already knows of the writer within. At some point, she’ll have to open herself to that…

Ok, so, next week, it’s all about me:) There’s stuff I’m working on and lot’s of stuff coming your way as well. How about you guys? Met any great, clueless creatives out there?

6 thoughts on “My Friend Molly…”

    1. Karen, trust me, Molly’s story had me enthralled and I’m not easily impressed. Will most definitely keep you up to date:) Thanks for stopping by & hope you had a great week with the new baby!

      Clara.

      Like

  1. Wow Clara!!! very nice of you to take sometime to read my “stuff” and say nice things!!! i definately appreciate that and ofcourse i am inspired!!!….I knew there is more to you…well it takes a special woman like you to do what you do right?……”what lousy workers!!!!” still you smile and take care of her as your own!!!! when you get a chance, read the next one, i am sure it will ring a bell……

    Like

    1. Molly, thanks for your kind words and thanks for staying true to your “voice”. So glad you’re inspired to write more:) Yes, “lousy workers!” is one of my darlings!

      Best,
      Clara

      Like

Leave a Reply

