Clara54 Introduces Dzvinka’s Paintings

Photo by User:Aude
Image via Wikipedia

Tell us about your passion for art – when did it start?   For as long as I can remember, I have always had a passion for the all of the arts. My passion for painting came from attending the American Academy of Art in Chicago and the Art Institute of Chicago. Upon graduating and gaining employment in the graphic arts field, I continued painting at night and on weekends. Now that I am retired, I  paint full-time. My focus is landscapes in oil. I prefer painting in the comfort of my studio in Oak Park, so while traveling through rural Illinois, I take photographs, make sketches and take notes that later assist me in my oil paintings.   Describe your upbringing and family life and how it affects your work.   I was born in the Ukraine and became a U.S. citizen in 1957. I grew up in an artistic household. My mother painted and created beautiful ceramics. I married an artist and have two daughters, who are also artists. My daughters and I exhibit together about once a year. Having artists in my immediate family has not only inspired me but also provided valuable criticism and great support for my artwork.   Who were your mentors?   My mentors were the professors at the American Academy of Art in Chicago, as well as my supervisor from my graphics design job — who always encouraged me to paint. I would also consider nature to be a mentor of sorts. Through my painting, my hope is that viewers will come away with the realization that there is beauty all around us in simple and ordinary scenes.   Are your paintings affordable?   Prices can range from $300 – $2000 per piece — depending on size and complexity. My blog will be updated soon with pieces that are available for purchase with the corresponding price.

Please provide contact information to those interested in purchasing your gorgeous pieces.

Dzvinka http://dzvinkasart.blogspot.com dzvinka@comcast.net   

 

“Along Davis Road,” 30″ x 40″ oil on canvas

Copyright © 2009 by Dzvinka Stifel. All Rights Reserved. The variations of green pulled me to stop along this road. I took a photograph of this Spring scene and later created this landscape in my studio.  

“Sunrise Shadows,” 24″ x 30″ oil on canvas

Copyright © 2009 by Dzvinka Stifel. All Rights Reserved. I came upon this scene while traveling through Northwest Illinois. The shadows on the dirt road are what struck me the most.    

“Midwest Farm,” oil on canvas, 24″ x 36″

Copyright © 2009 by Dzvinka Stifel. All Rights Reserved. I came upon this scene while traveling with my sister, Tamara, through Stephenson County. I was inspired to paint this landscape considering all of the U.S. farms that have gone out of existence.    

“Limerick Ireland – Abandoned 17th Century Distillery,” oil on canvas, 24″ x 36″

Copyright © 2009 by Dzvinka Stifel. All Rights Reserved. I painted this scene from a photograph my son in law gave me on Christmas. This scene is of an old abandoned 17th century distillery that he came upon during his travels through Ireland. This particular spot was on the property of James Cleary, a gentleman farmer, with 80 head of dairy cows in Limerick, Ireland, county of Tipparary.     

“Frank Lloyd Wright’s Unity Temple,” oil on canvas, 36″ x 48″

Copyright © 2009 by Dzvinka Stifel. All Rights Reserved. This painting is of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Unity Temple in Oak Park. Living in Oak Park for the past 40 years, I constantly see and appreciate the architecture and history around me, but what was really inspiring about this scene was the tree itself – it was framing the temple with delicate branches that looked like lace, decorated by golden Autumn leaves.    

“Millenium Park,” oil on canvas, 30″ x 40″

Copyright © 2009 by Dzvinka Stifel. All Rights Reserved. A trip to Millenium Park in Chicago inspired this painting. It was purchased by the Berwyn Public Library in Berwyn, Illinois and is on permanent exhibition at the library. I am looking forward to future visits.

9 thoughts on “Clara54 Introduces Dzvinka’s Paintings”

    1. They are, aren’t they? I immediately felt a kinship with this artist’s work & had to profile her for my readers.
      Thanks for stopping by & be sure to let Dzvinka know how much you like her work!

      Clara.

      Like

Leave a Reply

