What’s Success?

A prolific writer friend of mine asked me sometime ago my thoughts on what makes 2 people who start out on the same career footing with only one ending up successful…why, she asked did one succeed, whereas the other failed?

I’ve thought about this question often in trying to build up my own freelance writing biz… my answer then was an attempt to define the idea of “success” From a personal point of view, I’m thinking I’m successful when all’s right in my world in regards to family, health, enough monies to keep food on the table/clothes, although a bit worn, on my back and a slightly leaky roof over my head!

In my endeavor to get my career to a place where folks might want to hear/read/pay for what I have to offer as a writer, becomes an uphill climb…but, I’m still feeling a sense of accomplishment in areas of establishing community with other like-minded people…getting work out to publishers/editors…getting the occasional gig:)

Am I successful? I would have to say, yes! I’m not exactly where I want to be in my writing career right about now, but, there’s no denying “I’m not where I used to be” I can live with that as I continue on this wondrous writing journey…

How about you… how do you define success?

4 responses to this post.

  1. “Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will / To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.” If you choose the right benchmark, yes. Otherwise you can frustrate yourself to no end. :)

    Ups and downs are part of life; they’re not necessarily bad. They just are.

    Best wishes.

    Reply

  2. Hi Joe Average,

    My sentiments exactly!…”What will be, will
    be”. you have great insight…

    Thank you.

    Clara.

    Reply

  3. Posted by alexmorrisroe on October 23, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    Success. Elusive, indefinable and as slimy as a fish, once you think you have your hands on it, oh no! There it goes again!

    If you finish a sentence you’ve been successful.

    If you have reached the point in your writing life where you can give yourself permission to write irrespective of publication, for nothing but the joy of putting pen to paper then you have been successful beyond what most writers dream of.

    Keep writing

    Reply

  4. Hello,

    Thank you so much for your “I know the feeeling” and yet, positive attitude writers; aspiring/seasoned so need to hear in this writing thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 637 other followers

